That’s What I Call a Battering Ram: Playable Faun Race (5th ed.)

* EDIT* Wow! I’m amazed that you guys love the faun race so much! Me and my homebrew partner-in-crime are flattered at this! But please remember that Pitfalls and Pixies has a host of other intriguing races as well. Regardless, thanks for the positive feedback from you guys! : ) *

 

I love fauns: forest-dwelling fae creatures who can fight with the best of them while slinging spells. So, when I read over the Player’s Handbook and saw a lack of these beings (no one seems to have a faun race available, do they?), it was high time that, with the assistance of one of my friends, I begin work on crafting them.

And here’s the result!


“You go into them woods, boy, I can’t assure you’ll come out the same person you were. The song of the denizens who live there, they’ll try to charm you into joining them in their raucous dances and hedonistic rituals. Don’t follow them goat-men, or you can count your sanity gone.”

Fauns are humanoid creatures who share the characteristics of the average human but the lower portions of a goat or a 418px-Frontispiece_to_A_Book_of_Mythsdeer. Sly, wily and mischievous, these forest-dwellers are typically nomadic and take great enjoyment in innocent trickery. They delight in fine art as well, and are experts with weapons that some cultures may find primitive and simple.Sometimes, there is nothing as frightening as a wall of spears being thrown at the ignorant trespasser into faun territory.

–  Darkvision

–  Speed 30
–  Languages Sylvan and common

–  Ability Score Increase: +1 Dex. All of these goat-legged beings, regardless of their environment, are nimble things that use this to get out of painful situations fast.

–  Satyr Weapon Training: You are proficient with short swords, blowguns and spears.

–  Fae Legacy: As a Sylvan creature, the ancient ways of magic run through your veins. You gain access to the following spells at the correlating level. Charisma is your casting stat.

Cantrip: Druidcraft

Lvl 3- Moonbeam

Lvl 5- Daylight

02f3ef231c6a5d1012778553a5790a99Fae Ancestry: Due to your Sylvan blood, you have advantage on saving throws against being charmed by spells and/or spell-like effects and cannot be put to sleep through magical means.

–   Racial Sub Types: Not all fauns reside in the woods of the realm. You may choose between Mountain and Forest faun as your sub type.

MOUNTAIN

–  Ability Score Increase: +2 Constitution.
–   Sure Footed: As a creature born into the harsh rocky terrain, you have no penalty on rough or difficult terrain.
–  Mountain Resilience: You have advantage on saving throws against poison and resistance on poison damage

FOREST
Ability Score Increase: +2 Wisdom
Mask of the Wild: You can attempt to hide even when you are only lightly obscured by foliage, heavy rain, falling snow, mist and other natural phenomena.
Forest Knowledge: Proficiency in Nature checks involving Herbalism or Tracking Animals


If you’ve played this race, please let me know what you all think! I’m always open to input!

10 thoughts on “That’s What I Call a Battering Ram: Playable Faun Race (5th ed.)

  1. I gotta say I know at least one faun race which is the satyr but it falls kinda far of a playable race. And there’s another somewhat faun race which is the bariaur. By the way I’d really like to see a 5E version of the bariaur.

    This is a very nice job you did here. There’s only one thing I don’t understand. In the description you state they are experts with crafted bows and arrows but then in the traits you don’t give’em the proficiency.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe you should take out short sword and replace that with bow, and spear for polearm. I don’t see a deer creature wanting to be close to someone with a sword or axe. They (for the most part) are weaker creatures and want to stay as far away from people as possible. I would like to get my girlfriend into d&d and think she would like to be a faun. I would like to see some classes in ranger and bard with this race.

    Like

  3. This is very interesting, You’re an excessively skilled
    blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to in tthe hujnt for more oof
    your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

    Like

  4. My sister and I are going to be starting a game this weekend, I’ve had little experience and she’s never played before at all, and it’s just the two of us because we have a lack of friends lol. The first thing she asked me (since I will also be DMing for the first time) was ‘can I play, like, a faun character, but like, a unicorn instead of a goat or whatever?’ Do you have any suggestions/references I could use to make that happen for her?

    Like

    1. Uni-faun? Hmmmm…

      My suggestion is switching up the spell list to be in line with healing and avoidance (going off of the Unicorn Monster Manual listing)
      At level 1: Druidcraft
      At level 3: Pass Without Trace
      At level 5 (once per day): Entangle

      Instead of Sylvan, she could know Celestial (the language of divine creatures like angels),
      Also, get rid of their weapon proficiency for perhaps one of the Unicorn’s less over-powered traits, such as Heal Self:
      Heal Self: The Uni-Faun magically regains 2d8+Constitution modifier. Recharge on a 6 rolled on a d6 (akin to a dragon’s breath weapon).

      Hope I could help! : )

      Like

Leave a Reply

